Suggestions for Creators

(Astroasis) #1

I’m going to start this out by stating: I’m not a creator. I’m not an artist at all. I’m an art appreciator - someone who loves looking at and admiring art and finding new artists to love and spreading that love to others. With that in mind, I’d like to offer an art lover’s perspective on some dos and don’ts for NeonMob creators who are looking to get the most out of their NeonMob submissions and sets.

Submissions

• Come up with a unique, personal idea for your first set. You might have a ton of ideas for sets, you might be planning some great things and thinking, “I’ll start out small.” But the world is a fickle place and you might decide that creating sets on NeonMob isn’t for you (hopefully not, but you should be prepared for this possibility). Make sure your first set will serve you well even if it turns out to be your ONLY set. Ideally, your set should serve as a solid sample of the artwork you create and would want to be known for. A great example of this is Rasterstache’s Rasterstache Bots. He could have made a set of robot sketches, or maybe pixelart of his robots - but he made a solid set that illustrates exactly what he does, which is making robots. If Rasterstache makes future sets, he can expand on his skills and interests - but his first (and thus far only) set serves as a perfect advertisement for his art.

• Provide a clear, finished sample of the set you hope to make. Collectors will assume you are showing them an example of a print from your proposed set, so if your submission is a rough sketch, they will expect your set to also be made of similarly rough sketches. Likewise, if your submission looks like a polished, finished piece, collectors will expect more of the same in your finished set. Don’t hastily submit an unfinished concept, or overshoot what you’re realistically able to provide by submitting something greater than what you plan on making.